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MEMORANDUM

TO: All Human Resources Administrators
FROM: DAS Human Resources DIVJSIO/% W /WW
DATE: October 14, 2010 '

SUBJECT: Minimum Wage Rates for 2011

This is to inform all agencies, boards and commissions that Ohio's minimum wage will increase
on January 1, 2011 to $7.40 per hour for non-tipped employees and to $3.70 per hour for tipped
employees, plus tips. The current minimum wage rate is $7.30 per hour for non-tipped
employees and $3.65 for tipped employees, plus tips.

Changes to the wage are tied directly to the Consumer Price Index (CP1) as outlined in the
constitutional amendment passed in November 2006. The index increased by 1.4 percent from
September 1, 2009 to August 31, 2010.

Attached, you will find a news release from the Ohio Department of Commerce which contains
additional information, related links and contact information.

Attachment

cc; file
John Audet, Administrator — Workforce Administration
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NEWS RELEASE

The Ohio Ted Strickland, Governor
Department of Commerce Kimberly A. Zurz, Director
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Dennis Ginty at (614) 644-9564
SEPTEMBER 30, 2010

OHIO DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE

OHIO MINIMUM WAGE SET TO INCREASE ON JANUARY 1,2011

Ohio’s minimum wage will increase on January 1, 2011 to $7.40 per hour for non-tipped
employees and to $3.70 per hour for tipped employees, plus tips.

Ohio’s current minimum wage is $7.30 per hour for non-tipped employees and $3.65 for tipped
employees, plus tips.

On January 1, 2011, the increased minimum wage will apply to employers who gross more than
$271,000 per year. Currently, Ohio’s minimum wage applies to employers who gross over
$267,000 per year. :

The Constitutional Amendment passed by Ohio voters in November 2006 states that Ohio’s
minimum wage shall increase on January 1 of each year by the rate of inflation. The wage is tied
to the Consumer Price Index (CPI) for urban wage earners and clerical workers for the 12-month
period prior to September. The CPl rose 1.4 percent from September 1, 2009 to August 31,
2010. The Amendment also states that the wage rate shall be rounded to the nearest 5 cents.

For employees at smaller companies (grossing $267,000 or less per year or $271,000 or less per
year after January 1, 2011) and for 14- and 15-year-olds, the state minimum wage is $7.25 per
hour. For these employees, the state wage is tied to the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour
which requires an act of Congress and the President’s signature to change.

Information on Ohio’s 2011 minimum wage is available at:
hitp://www.com.ohio.gov/laws/docs/laws_MinimummWage201 1.pdf
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